Image default

GE2020: Election map takes shape

a close up of a map: Map of where Singapore’s political parties have said they intend to field candidates. Image: Coconuts / Google Map of where Singapore’s political parties have said they intend to field candidates. Image: Coconuts / Google

It’s Nomination Day! Singapore’s politicians will officially register as candidates for next week’s general election by filing in person at nomination centers today. 

Several political parties have already unveiled their slates of contenders and where they will run. As usual, the ruling People’s Action Party will field candidates in all areas across Singapore, while the opposition Progress Singapore Party will run mostly in the west, the Workers’ Party will be focused on the east.

This year is seeing 11 opposition parties contest the election. 

So far, races to watch include the Potong Pasir single constituency, which Singapore People’s Party chairman and former sports journalist Jose Raymond will attempt to reclaim. It had a long history under his predecessor, veteran politico Chiam See Tong, before PAP’s Sitoh Yi Pin won it in 2011 and again in 2015. 

Also, Singapore Democratic Party leader Chee Soon Juan is hoping to win the Bukit Batok single constituency this time after losing out to PAP’s Murali Pillai in a 2016 by-election.

Coconuts Singapore is tracking the official candidates as Nomination Day unfolds and will update our map with the final results. Singaporeans go to the polls July 10.

Want to be part of the excitement? The Election Department has designated nine schools as nomination centers for candidates in nearby constituencies: 

  1. Bendemeer Primary School – Bishan-Toa Payoh, Jalan Besar, Radin Mas, Tanjong Pagar
  2. Chong Fu School – Kebun Baru, Marsiling-Yew Tee, Nee Soon, Sembawang
  3. Deyi Secondary School – Aljunied, Ang Mo Kio, Marymount, Yio Chu Kang
  4. Jurong Pioneer Junior College – Chua Chu Kang, Hong Kah North, Pioneer
  5. Kong Hwa School – MacPherson, Marine Parade, Mountbatten, Potong Pasir
  6. Methodist Girls’ School – Bukit Panjang, Holland-Bukit Timah
  7. Nan Hua High School – Bukit Batok, Jurong, West Coast, Yuhua
  8. Poi Ching School – Hougang, Tampines
  9. St Anthony’s Canossian Primary School – East Coast, Pasir Ris-Punggol, Punggol West, Sengkang

(Refer to the map below for updates on candidates and the constituencies they are contesting, subject to changes.)

This article, GE2020: Election map takes shape as candidates register to run, originally appeared on Coconuts, Asia’s leading alternative media company. 

Source: MSN

Related posts

Beloved Twitch streamer Byron ‘Reckful’ Bernstein, 31, dies by ‘suicide’


University student and boyfriend arrested on suspicion of laundering US$46 million in Hong Kong


Russia to transfer 500,000 Swiss francs to ICRC to fight against pandemic


Leave a Comment