Image default

Victoria eases border measures with Sydney, regional NSW and Brisbane

Victoria will further ease border measures with Greater Sydney, regional NSW and Brisbane from 6pm tonight, Premier Daniel Andrews has announced.

All of Greater Sydney’s local government areas which are currently deemed as red zones of risk will become orange, with the exception of Cumberland.

The nine areas include: Blacktown, Canada Bay City, Burwood, Canterbury-Bankstown, Liverpool, Fairfield, Inner West, Parramatta and Strathfield.

Premier Daniel Andrews announces easing of border restrictions. (Getty)

The easing of border restrictions means people from these areas in Greater Sydney will be able to enter Victoria providing they get tested for coronavirus within 72 hours of arrival and isolate until they return a negative result.

Travellers must also confirm they have not been in the remaining red zone of Cumberland within the past 14 days – other than for transit – and have not been in close contact with a coronavirus case and do not have any symptoms.

“That leaves just one local government area in New South Wales that is red,” Mr Andrews said.

“That will be great news, I know, for people who are wanting to come home.”

Greater Brisbane and regional New South Wales, with the exception of Wollongong and Blue Mountains, will also move from an orange zone to a green zone, permitting unrestricted travel into Victoria.

The changes mean hundreds more Victorians will be permitted to travel home from tonight.

More to come.

Source: 9News | World News

Related posts

Threat to kill wild boar that stole nude bather’s laptop prompts outcry


St George Illawarra NRL star Jack de Belin finally takes to the stand to deny raping a teen girl


Italy records its highest daily case increase since pandemic began


Leave a Comment